Note to Credentialing Verification Organizations: There are Three Nationally Recognized Physician Certifying Bodies

Credentialing Verification OrganizationsAt the American Board of Physician Specialties®, we urge credentialing verification organizations (CVOs) to remember that there are three nationally recognized multi-specialty physician certifying bodies in North America: the American Board of Medical Specialties, the American Osteopathic Association, and us. Each of these certifying bodies is nationally recognized and has extensive experience offering board certification to the most qualified physicians in their fields of expertise.

When it comes to the American Board of Physician Specialties, consider the following:

  • We first began offering board certification in 1960, and today, we have Diplomates in all 50 states as well as Canada and Puerto Rico.
  • Our examination procedures and protocols meet the highest standards and are clinically, psychometrically, and legally defensible. In fact, a third party organization assessed our standards and found they were equivalent or better than those of the ABMS and the AOA.
  • All of our Diplomates and applicants have been primary source verified by Med Advantage.
  • Our certification was recognized by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services and is part of the current medical standard that was included in the Affordable Care Act regarding primary care physician incentive.
  • Our Diplomates are graduates of some of the most well known and prestigious medical schools in the world, representing the very best in their specialties.

We understand the invaluable role that independent verification has in North American healthcare, and we strongly urge all CVOs to research the three leading physician certifying bodies in the country. For more information about our organization, or the eligibility requirements for board certification through the ABPS, contact us today.

Save the Date
House of Delegates & Annual Scientific Meeting
Innovation & Overcoming Challenges
June 10-15, 2022
Patient Care Is Our Priority

Medical organizations throughout North America understand that our rigorous certification standards prove that ABPS Diplomates are capable of delivering the best patient care possible.

I feel truly blessed and grateful to be an internal medicine board-certified diplomate with the American Board of Physician Specialties. Their ongoing, steadfast commitment to physician board(s) enhancement, forward focused vision, and tenacity is second to none. ABPS has become a recognized choice in Physician Board Certification.

Adam Rench, MD
Internal Medicine
To be the best, you must measure yourself against the best. Achieving Board Certification in Emergency Medicine by the ABPS gave me the opportunity to demonstrate mastery of the art of EM in an objective way. The high bar that ABPS sets for candidates to be allowed to take both the written and oral exam is a testament to ABPS's rigorous vetting of one's ability to practice Emergency Medicine at a high level. By maintaining these credentials, I've been able to instill confidence in my abilities at the department/employer level and ultimately with the patients that choose to seek emergency care at the facilities at which I practice.

Royce Mathew Joseph, MD
Emergency Medicine
The American Board of Physician Specialties has supported the entire field of Integrative Medicine in sponsoring our board. It has been so validating of the importance of prevention-oriented and holistic approaches to care while emphasizing the scientific basis of this specialty to have it recognized by ABPS. I am proud to have been one of the first groups to be board certified by ABPS in Integrative Medicine, leading the way for others committed to training in this specialty.

Myles Spar, MD
Integrative Medicine