Font Size:

About the BCFM’s Family Medicine  Exam for Board Certification

Family PracticeThe examination offered by the Board of Certification in Family Medicine (BCFM) is a clinically based, written test designed to allow a Family Medicine specialist to demonstrate his or her proficiency in the core competencies required to provide the finest care possible.

An outline of 33 Family Medicine subject areas covered on the certification examination is available here to help candidates prepare. Candidates should review this outline carefully and focus their study efforts accordingly. The percentage of questions drawn from a particular subject area conveys the relative importance of each area of the examination. The Family Medicine subject areas most represented are:

  • Cardiovascular diseases
  • Dermatology
  • Geriatrics
  • Pediatrics
  • Signs and symptoms of diseases

Each of these five Family Medicine subject areas are represented by nine or more questions on the exam. Candidates should be aware that the outline reflects the responses to practice-analysis questionnaires and enables codification of the examination for subsequent analysis of the results. Each question is linked to a specific area of the outline. No question is meant to be obscure or tricky. The information in the outline is meant to serve as a study aid only, and not as a guarantee of success in taking the certification examination.

A list of study guides, with primary and secondary references, also is available in PDF form by clicking here.

To learn more about the Family Medicine certification exam offered by the BCFM and the American Board of Physician Specialties® (ABPS), contact us today. The ABPS is the official multi-specialty certifying body of the American Association of Physician Specialists, Inc.