Font Size:

Internal Medicine: Board Certification Exam Overview

Internal MedicineThe physician board certification examination for the Board of Certification in Internal Medicine (BCIM) is conducted as a computer-based written test consisting of 200 multiple-choice questions. As with the exams for every member board of the American Board of Physician Specialties® (ABPS®), this clinically-based test provides physicians the opportunity to demonstrate that they have mastered the core competencies required to provide the finest medical care possible in the field of Internal Medicine.

The questions for the BCIM certification exam are drawn from 14 subject areas pertaining to Internal Medicine:

  • Allergies and immunities
  • Cardiology
  • Dermatology
  • Endocrinology
  • Gastroenterology
  • Genetic disorders
  • Hematology
  • Infectious diseases
  • Nephrology
  • Neurology
  • Oncology
  • Pulmonary and critical care
  • Rheumatology
  • General internal medicine

The number of questions on each subject area is determined by the relative importance of each. For example, a candidate can expect to see more questions about cardiology, gastroenterology, infectious diseases, pulmonary and critical care, and general internal medicine than subjects such as genetic disorders and allergies and immunities. Study aids for the BCIM exam are listed here.

To learn more about the BCIM exam, or for information about the eligibility requirements, contact the ABPS. The ABPS is the official multi-specialty board certifying body of the American Association of Physician Specialists, Inc.®