Font Size:

Ophthalmology Board Certification – Eligibility Highlights

Ophthalmology Board CertificationSuccessful candidates who complete the ophthalmology board certification exam from the Board of Certification in Ophthalmology (BCO) have demonstrated that they possess the core knowledge and experience to provide the best possible care in ophthalmology. While the BCO has its own set of eligibility requirements, each Member Board of the American Board of Physician Specialties (ABPS) abides by the same set of general eligibility requirements. These include:

  • Agreeing to conform to the ABPS Medical Code of Ethics
  • Graduation from a recognized college of medicine
  • Ownership of a valid, unrestricted license to practice medicine in the state, or states, where the applicant practices diagnostic radiology
  • Three current, original letters of recommendation from physicians in the applicant’s community or specialty written on letterhead and including a phone number of the author
  • Submission of a self-query in the National Practitioner Data Bank, with the sealed report in an unopened envelope
  • Submission to a background check

Highlights of the BCO’s specific eligibility requirements include completion of an AOA-accredited Osteopathic residency or an ACGME-accredited residency in Ophthalmology, as well as submission of a documented summary of a minimum of twenty (20) surgical cases in which the applicant had the lead management role. Case reports must be no older than twelve (12) months from the date the candidate’s application for certification is received by ABPS.

To learn more about the details of the BCO’s specific eligibility requirements, contact the ABPS today. The ABPS is the official board certifying body of the American Association of Physician Specialists, Inc.